Holsworthy Bowling Club

Flat green & short mat in Devon EX22 6JG



The Committee

The Holsworthy Bowling Club is run by a committee with an annual general meeting after the end of the season in November. Officers are elected at the A.G.M. as per the club constitution.

Conditions of Membership

All persons who wish to gain membership of Holsworthy Bowling Club shall be required to complete an application form, the committee or minimum of four committee members shall approve or reject the application, the committee's decision shall be final. Application for membership can be made for Flat Green or Short Mat together or separately. Membership Fees shall be reviewed at the Annual General Meeting. A condition of membership is that club colours shall be worn at all times, Club Shirts for flat green. Short Mat Tops for short mat, when participating in match play or club competitions.


Combined club membership for both the indoor and outdoor season is currently £80.00 per year.

Indoor season only is £25.00 per year (first season only £15.00).

Outdoor season only is £70.00 per year (first season only £30.00).

Social membership for just £15 a year.


The club is affiliated to the Bowls England, English Short Mat Bowling Association, Bowls Devon and North Devon & North Cornwall Short Mat Bowling Federation.

Section 1
Affiliation No: 08043


Teams from the club play in Devon County Trophy for men and the 86 Shield Trophy for ladies. There is also a North Devon Triples League for men and ladies.

Club members can also individually enter County Competitions and if they achieve the required standard earn a county badge and be eligible for selection to play for the County

Throughout the outdoor season which runs from April to September there are in addition to the league matches internal club competitions and friendly matches with other clubs outside of Section 1.

Club Personnel

Committee responsibilities can be read here



Vice President

Mrs R Chetwynd
01409 220200
email Rose


Club Secretary

Mrs M Beckford
01409 254804
email Mary



Mrs P Trout
01409 2213116
email Pat




Mr D Webb
01409 254129



Vice Captain

Mr M Down
07930 229637
email Mike


Match Secretary

Mr D Webb
01409 254129
Mr B Thomas
01409 211420
07483 246040



Ladies Secretary

Ms S Bridger
01409 254697


Ladies Captain

Ms S Langford
01409 221097
07845 126160
email Sylvia


Ladies Vice Captain

Mrs P Hancox
01409 220099
07845 157198
email Pat



Press Secretary

Mr G Smith
01409 254201
email Graham


Green Committee Representative

Mr P Martyn
01409 241322